Aberdeen School

Previous Updates


Written by Aberdeen School

Term 4, Week 1

Posted on 20 October 2017

This week at assembly we celebrated our school's cultural diversity with Diwali and Chinese Language Week presentations. 

Blake and Deacan shared with us their school holiday activities which involved competing in some national competitions in their chosen sports. Blake competed in the World Supremacy Battlegrounds (Hip Hop dance competition) in Australia.  Deacan competed in the New Zealand Trampoline National Championships in Christchurch.  It's so lovely to see our students excelling outside of school. 


These students received certificates for being cool clan kids.



Our Indian students helped us celebrate Diwali today at assembly.  They first held a small quiz for the students on what Diwali was.  We were then treated to a performance from the Bollywood Dancers. 


Here is a video of their dance. 




Ting Ting (Our Mandarin Language Teacher) helped us celebrate Chinese Language Week. 


We were first introduced to the Lion dance, a traditional form of dance in Chinese Culture.  Here is a video of this dance.



Ting Ting has been working with some of our Aberdeen Students, teaching them to speak Mandarin.  Here is a video of some of the things they have been learning (Greetings and numbers)


No comments have been approved for this blog post yet.

Comment on this post...